Of fleeting youths

Suddenly started thinking about life after schooling, and it scares me. We’ve been in this education system for more than 15 years now, and it’s going to be over in less than a year’s time. 

Suddenly I’m wondering if I’ve really made full use of my youth. I’m not ready to step into the corporate world, into a monotonous life with memories much less rich than schooling memories.

NTU definitely has given me a multitude of experiences and memories that I want to remember for life. Trying out new things like cheerleading, going on overseas adventure expeditions, hiking, staying up late till 6am to have heart-to-heart talks with friends… These are things that I’ll definitely dearly miss when I graduate. Hall life has been so fulfilling, and getting to know so many different personalities in one place is definitely something hard to achieve.

With hall prod recently concluded I think I may have just participated in the last major hall activity that I would ever participate in. And I’m lost. I don’t really have anything to look forward to anymore. Hall thirteen has really been my home away from home for the past three years. Though I may have drifted apart from some… They are still dear people to me. People that I’m glad to have known, people that I appreciate. Thank you for coming into my life.

I don’t know why I’m feeling so emotional right now but I’m really scared about the future. Thinking about going on exchange next semester makes me really excited, but at the same time I’m also scared about letting go of everything that I’ve worked for so far… The friendships that I’ve made… I don’t know if I’m ready to let go of everything and risk losing these people. 

Yet I know that if I don’t go, I’ll definitely regret it. 

Last year of university – what should I do?

Leave a Reply

